Select Page

If your child is learning to read with The PRIDE Reading Program or any other structured literacy program, then your child is learning skills through decodable story passages based on their reading level. Decodable stories are an important part of a structured literacy approach when learning to read because it ensures that your child has the skills to read without guessing.  

Decodable stories are different from ‘leveled readers’ which are taught to rely more on cues in the text or accompanying pictures to guess words and memorize the most common words found in print.  Leveled readers often use predictable and repetitive sentences to help students guess the correct words.

Although reading decodable stories should be the most important reading source in the early stages of literacy instruction, as your child becomes more confident with reading, you might want to implement some leveled readers for even more practice and more exposure to written language. The more practice the better!

On today’s post, I am going to give you some book suggestions  by reading level that will fit into your structured literacy lessons for some extra fun reading practice.

**Links on this post are affiliates, and if you go through them to make a purchase, PRIDE will earn a commission. Keep in mind that we link these books and products because of their quality and not because of the commission we receive from your purchases. The decision is yours, and whether or not you decide to buy something is completely up to you.**

Reading Level 1

Level 1 – The Yellow Book includes learning beginning consonants, blends, short vowels, and beginning sight words.  If your child is at this reading level, you will want to start with the simplest books, and as your child learns more letters, sounds and more sight words, you can gradually work your way up to longer and more interesting books. Here are some of my favorite simple reading books that are very popular with children and that you will be able to find at your local library:  

1. Bob Books – (Set 1) 

2. Step Into Reading Books – (Step 1) 

3. I Can Read Books – (Level 1)

4.  Now I’m Reading – (Level 1)

 Reading Level 2 and 3

Level 2 – The Orange Book  and Level 3 – The Red Book include long vowels, dipthongs (ea, oa, oe, etc.) more sight words and beginning compound and multisyllabic words. The options of outside reading books finally opens up to so much more! Whew!!! Here are some of my favorites that are really popular and you will be able to find these at your public library: 

1. The Berenstain Bears Series

2. Fred and Ted Series

3. The Cat in the Hat Series

4. Amelia Bedelia Series

5. Mr. Putter and Tabby Series

6. Henry and Mudge Series

7. Poppleton Series

8. Nate the Great Series

9. Morris and Boris Series

Reading Level 4 and 5

Children that are reading in Level 4 – The Purple Book and Level 5 – The Blue Book, can begin reading easy transitional chapter books.  Here are some of favorites that you will be able to find at your public library: 

1. Magic Tree House Series 

2. Hank Zipzer Series  

3. A-Z Mysteries 

4. Flat Stanley Series

5. Ivy and Bean Series

6. Geronimo Stilton Series

7. Bad Kitty Series

8. Cam Jansen Series

9. Horrible Harry Series

10. Junie B. Jones

How do you Find your Child’s Reading Level?

You use a little trick that it so simple and easy called the 5 Finger Rule. You can watch how it is done on this video

I Have a Resource for You!

Thank you for reading my post today on finding some extra books for your child’s reading level.  You might also enjoy reading my previous posts:

Digraph Beanbag Toss

Multisensory Reading Activity: Beach Ball Toss

My Favorite Sight Word Activities


Please don’t leave without checking out the PRIDE Reading Program.  The PRIDE Reading Program is an Orton-Gillingham curriculum that is used by teachers, tutors, and homeschooling parents worldwide with great success.

PRIDE Reading Program

Do you have questions regarding your child’s reading level?  Leave me a comment below, I would love to hear from you!

Karina Richland, M.A., is the author of the PRIDE Reading Program, a multisensory Orton-Gillingham reading, writing and comprehension curriculum that is available worldwide for parents, tutors, teachers and homeschoolers of struggling readers. Karina has an extensive background in working with students of all ages and various learning modalities. She has spent many years researching learning differences and differentiated teaching practices. You can reach her by email at or visit the website at

Don't go without signing up for the Weekly Roar! Get the latest posts and helpful information from the PRIDE Reading Program.

Join our list to receive the latest news and updates with The Weekly Roar.

Thanks for signing up for the Weekly Roar. If you would like to learn more about the PRIDE Reading Program, please continue to explore our site, or feel free to contact us at any time.